“Sticky Bleed” Threat Build

Okay well once my leveling was done and my guild started preparing to raid Naxx, I decided it was time to workout what my raiding setup was going to be. Where was I going to place all of my talent points was the question I was asking myself. I didn’t know if I wanted to try a “cookie cutter” build and see what all the fuss was about or step out on the edge a bit more with a build of my own. Well since I was experimenting anyway, I decided to go with one of my own.

So my first step in determining what I wanted to do talent wise was to do my homework on what was already being done. Now this next step might be a big “DUH!” to some of you but for others you might have never thought to do this. I personally use a few different points of reference for this type of research. The first being inspecting the talent builds of other warriors on my realm who I know are good and who I have come to respect for their knowledge and success. I also checkout what WoWWiki.com has for warrior builds as the builds there seem to be the ones that end up being widely used. And finally, I keep an updated list of who the main Prot warriors are in the world’s top guilds such as the newly formed Ensidia (Nihilum + SK Gaming merger) and Death and Taxes etc. This list plus the newly redesigned WoWArmory have proven to be a valuable tool for picking up a few ideas for my own builds.

Once I have carefully gathered info from all of the points of reference above, I am then ready to start planning my own build. I had a pretty good idea of what talents in the Prot tree I wanted to pick up, so I just had to figure out what I wanted to do with the points I had remaining. I saw a lot of warriors going with 5/5 Cruelty setups as 5% crit off the top is sexy and we all know from our BC raiding days how well it helps build threat. In fact, up until my current build I have always been 5/5 Cruelty myself. However, in this new build that I am using I actually backed out a few points and sit at 2/5.

Now I know most warriors will not even entertain the idea of holding out points from Cruelty, but it was an idea that I had been sitting on for a long time that made me take the chance. Since the launch of BC I have always looked over at Impale and Deep Wounds on the Arms tree and wondered how they might come into play if I had more talent points to actually try them out in a tanking build. Well now with the 10 extra talent points, the new talent Armored to the Teeth and new positioning of some of the talents, I was actually able to come up with a build that would let me try them out. FINALLY!

So the build I am about to present you with is what I call my “Sticky Bleed” build. The sticky part comes from my Halo days with the sticky grenades. It was hard to shake those things off, and let me tell you mobs are sticking to me like super glue. The bleed part comes from the effect of Deep Wounds which causes all of your crits to inflict bleeds on your targets. Thus doing damage and building threat even when your in between swings. This build has worked extremely well for me. I have had everyone I tanked heroics for compliment on my ability to hold aggro even during their total DPS onslaughts and LEETmongous crits. The mobs and bosses just won’t come off of me. I also used this build in our very first Naxx raid in which we almost one-shotted every boss in the Plague and Arachnid wings. At times I was pushing over 5000 TPS during the raid and I can say that as of right now I plan on keeping this build for awhile. I may try a few variations, but I will definitely recommend this build to any warrior wanting to be a threat monster. Enjoy!

Level 80 Warrior (15/5/51)

Arms (15 points)

Improved Heroic Strike – Rank 3/3
Reduces the cost of your Heroic Strike ability by 3 rage points.

Deflection – Rank 5/5
Increases your Parry chance by 5%.

Improved Charge – Rank 2/2
Increases the amount of rage generated by your Charge ability by 10.

Impale – Rank 2/2
Increases the critical strike damage bonus of your abilities by 20%.

Deep Wounds – Rank 3/3
Your critical strikes cause the opponent to bleed, dealing 48% of your melee weapon’s average damage over 6 sec.

Fury (5 points)

Armored to the Teeth – Rank 3/3
Increases your attack power by 3 for every 180 armor value you have.

Cruelty – Rank 2/5
Increases your chance to get a critical strike with melee weapons by 2%.

Protection (51 points)

Shield Specialization – Rank 2/5
Increases your chance to block attacks with a shield by 2% and has a 40% chance to generate 2 rage when a block occurs.

Improved Thunder Clap – Rank 3/3
Reduces the cost of your Thunder Clap ability by 4 rage points and increases the damage by 30% and the slowing effect by an additional 10%.

Incite – Rank 3/3
Increases the critical strike chance of your Heroic Strike, Thunder Clap and Cleave abilities by 15%.

Anticipation – Rank 5/5
Increases your Dodge chance by 5%.

Last Stand – Rank 1/1
When
activated, this ability temporarily grants you 30% of your maximum health for 20 sec. After the effect expires, the health is lost.

Improved Revenge – Rank 2/2
Increases damage of your Revenge ability by 20% and gives a 50% chance to stun the target for 3 sec.

Shield Mastery – Rank 2/2
Increases your block value by 30% and reduces the cooldown of your Shield Block ability by 20 sec.

Toughness – Rank 5/5
Increases your armor value from items by 10% and reduces the duration of all movement slowing effects by 30%.

Concussion Blow – Rank 1/1
Stuns the opponent for 5 sec and deals [0.75 * AP] damage (based on attack power).

Gag Order – Rank 2/2
Gives your Shield Bash and Heroic Throw abilities a 100% chance to silence the target for 3 sec and increases the damage of your Shield Slam ability by 10%.

One-Handed Weapon Specialization – Rank 5/5
Increases physical damage you deal when a one-handed melee weapon is equipped by 10%.

Improved Defensive Stance – Rank 2/2
While in Defensive Stance all spell damage is reduced by 6% and when you Block, Parry or Dodge an attack you have a 100% chance to become Enraged, increasing melee damage caused by 10% for 12 sec.

Vigilance – Rank 1/1
Focus your protective gaze on a group or raid target, reducing their damage taken by 3% and transfers 10% of the threat they cause to you. In addition, each time they are hit by an attack your Taunt cooldown is refreshed. Lasts 30 min. This effect can only be on one target at a
time.

Focused Rage – Rank 3/3
Reduces the rage cost of your offensive abilities by 3.

Vitality – Rank 3/3
Increases your total Strength and Stamina by 6% and your Expertise by 6.

Warbringer – Rank 1/1
Your Charge ability is now usable while in combat and in any stance. In addition, your Charge, Intercept and Intervene abilities will remove all movement impairing effects.

Devastate – Rank 1/1
Sunder the target’s armor causing the Sunder Armor effect. In addition, causes 50% of weapon damage plus 101 for each application of Sunder Armor on the target. The Sunder Armor effect can stack up to 5 times.

Critical Block – Rank 3/3
Your successful blocks have a 30% chance to block double the normal amount and increases your chance to critically hit with your Shield Slam ability by an additional 15%.

Sword and Board – Rank 3/3
Increases the critical strike chance of your Devastate ability by 15% and when your Devastate or Revenge ability deals damage it has a 30% chance of refreshing the cooldown of your Shield Slam ability and reducing its cost by 100% for 5 sec.

Damage Shield – Rank 2/2
Whenever you take damage from or block a melee attack you cause damage equal to 20% of your block value.

Shockwave – Rank 1/1
Sends a wave of force in front of the warrior, causing [0.75 * AP] damage (based on attack power) and stunning all enemy targets within 10 yards in a frontal cone for 4 sec.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to ““Sticky Bleed” Threat Build”

  1. Very informative blog thank you :)
    I have always been a high mitigation tank, but this definitely looks like a lot more fun…and 5k TPS sound pretty damn sweet.
    The loss of mitigating effects on you is much less of a problem than a healer having to heal dps’ers if you lose aggro, so that needn’t even be an issue.

  2. Thank you for the comment! And you are exactly right, the slight extra damage you take is pale in comparison to the pay off of your DPS being able to go all out without pulling aggro. For fights like Patchwerk that are a pure DPS race against an enrage timer this is very important.

  3. Turbulence Says:

    Hi.
    Was googling and saw ure site=)
    Decided to read it and gave the build a try.
    works just fine.
    ty. will hold an eye for new blogs ;)

  4. [...] .:. Threat Monster .:. Follow a threat build warrior as he progresses and plays through World of Warcraft, an online MMORPG. Warrior theory-crafting, analysis, commentary and other various points of interest. « “Sticky Bleed” Threat Build [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

